What are the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit (according to the Bible)?

The Bible promises to prepare Christians for their various callings. One way is to receive the Holy Spirit’s gifts, which are given to each according to their purpose but by the same Spirit. You may be wondering, “What are the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit?”

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit are mentioned in Isaiah 11:2-3. They are wisdom, fortitude (courage), understanding, piety (reverence), fear of the Lord, and counsel (correct judgment). The Messiah’s traits are depicted in these various traits. People often confuse the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit with spiritual gifts. However, there is a difference between both.

Continue reading if you want to learn more about what the gifts of the Holy Spirit are mentioned in the Bible, what Bible verses discuss the gifts of the Holy Spirit, whether people still have the gifts of the Holy Spirit, and what the origin of the 7th gift of the Holy Spirit is.

What are the gifts of the Holy Spirit mentioned in the Bible?

The gifts of the Holy Spirit are thought to be characteristics of the Messiah and are mentioned in Isaiah 11:2-3. They frequently misunderstand the Apostle Paul’s teaching on spiritual gifts, which should not be the case. When these gifts are counted, they amount to six, but the seventh gift is a mystery that will be revealed later in the article.

Wisdom is a priceless gift. It assists us in discerning between what is right and what is wrong. It enables us to make sound decisions in our spiritual and personal lives. Wisdom is frequently mentioned in the Bible. When asked what he desired, Solomon chose wisdom to aid him in his leadership and administrative roles in governing the Israelites (1 Kings 3:9).

Knowledge, as described in the Bible, is not the same as what we consider knowledge to be. In scripture, true knowledge is knowing who God is; it is understanding God; however, God is a mystery that cannot be understood fully, but knowledge allows us to get a glimpse into who God is. Knowledge is not just about acquiring facts about things, places, and things.

Knowledge is about discovering who God is. By knowing God, we gain knowledge and understanding. Proverbs 2:6 For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding. Furthermore, knowledge comes from God.

Courage or fortitude: The Bible mentions courage several times. As Christians, we should not be terrified or afraid because the Bible says we have been given courage as a gift from God. As written in 2 Timothy 1:7, we have been given the courage to face our fears and challenges. In Joshua 1:9, we see God encouraging Joshua to be courageous and not fear because God would be with him.

Piety (reverence): This refers to our respect for God and the Church. We are called to have a deep reverence for God and the things of God. God desires that we respect him. When we have this respect, it shows that we are wholly dependent on God, so we approach God with humility. Piety is a gift that allows us to worship God and serve him fully.

Understanding: With God’s knowledge, we can comprehend not only God but also the occurrences and events of our lives. Understanding is a powerful gift because it allows one to avoid confusion. One can tell the difference between right and wrong and how to live right before God. When our logic and reasoning are perfected, we can stick to our principles and make choices that align with God’s truth. However, the Bible discourages us from relying on our understanding of Proverbs 3:5.

Counsel (correct judgment)—This gift enables us to distinguish between wrong and right. Furthermore, the Bible encourages us always to do what is right. When you have sound judgment, you can live rightly and make decisions that are consistent with the moral values taught by the Bible. This gift can help us decide what and who to believe, and it is also important in deciding who to marry and what to do with our lives. It is a gift that God can only give.

Fear of the Lord: The Bible says in Proverbs 1:7 that wisdom is the beginning of wisdom. Fearing God does not mean being afraid of Him. This gift is about having reverence for God and adoration and respect for him without fear or master-servant-like feelings. It is a fear that symbolizes our wonder and awe of who God is. Thus, our fear should be filial and not servile regarding our relationship with God.

What are the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit?
What Bible verses talk about the gifts of the Holy Spirit? See below

What Bible verses talk about the gifts of the Holy Spirit?

Romans 12:6-8

Having gifts that differ according to the grace given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, in proportion to our faith; if service, in our serving; the one who teaches, in his teaching; the one who exhorts, in his exhortation; the one who contributes, in generosity; the one who leads, with zeal; the one who does acts of mercy, with cheerfulness. This verse reminds us that we have been equipped with gifts that align with our purpose.

2 Timothy 1:6-7

For this reason, I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power, love, and self-control. The Bible mentions that we should work at constantly improving the gift set given to us by God. This verse encourages us to keep working at making the gift better with the help of God.

1 Corinthians 12:7–11

This verse is often misquoted and confused by many to mean the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit. However, it was taught by the apostle Paul, who taught the spiritual gifts of the Holy Spirit, which are slightly different. They include wisdom, healing, knowledge, speaking and interpreting different tongues, miracles, prophecy, and distinguishing between spirits.

Isaiah 11:2-3 This verse is the first mention of the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit. This original text depicts Jesus’ traits as revealed by the seven gifts. It gives us a list of the different kinds of gifts of the Holy Spirit. It urges many to grow in the gifts given to them by God purposefully.

Do people still have the gifts of the Holy Spirit?

According to the Bible, people still have the Holy Spirit’s gifts. As Christians, we are to imitate and follow Christ. The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit depict Christ’s character, revealing what kind of man Jesus was. These gifts are a reflection of who we should strive to be.

As a result, many people continue to rely on God to provide them with these gifts. God also wants His children to grow and mature in their faith. The Bible tells us that Jesus grew not only in stature but also in wisdom. This suggests that all 7 gifts are essential in the spiritual walk and that as we grow deeper in God, we also grow in the various types of gifts.

What are the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit?
What is the origin of the 7th gift of the Holy Spirit? See below

What is the origin of the 7th gift of the Holy Spirit?

The 7th gift of the Spirit is believed to be godliness and was first mentioned in the Septuagint. This was the Greek translation of the Old Testament. The gift is not mentioned anywhere in the original Hebrew text, so it is not popular in many English Bible translations. The Greek Septuagint was written in the 3rd century B.C. The Latin version of the Bible also mentions the 7th gift.

According to historians and theologians. Jerome of Striddon published the Vulgate, the Latin Bible version, and included the gift that became popular and influenced the church for decades.


What are the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit?

What are the gifts of the Holy Spirit? Scripture Quotes and Meaning

What does the Bible say about knowledge?

Gifts Of The Holy Spirit

Leave a Comment